

256th ACS National Meeting & Exposition Nanoscience, Nanotechnology & Beyond August 19-23, 2018 | Boston, MA **ACS COMP Symposium**



ACS SYMPOSIUM

Computational Photocatalysis: Modeling of Photophysics & Photochemistry at Interfaces

The study of photochemical reactions in general and photoelectrochemical water splitting in particular, rests on understanding of such elementary effects as light absorption, energy transfer, electron transfer, radiative and nonradiative relaxation, and catalysis is important for the rational design of efficient system for energy conversion. The design of most efficient catalysts is pursued by change of composition, quantum confinement, size, shape, surface functionalization, magnetic doping, and mesoscale structural arrangement providing versatile tuning of timescales of available basic mechanisms and properties of materials. This symposium presents recent experimental and computational synergistic advances on modeling of photophysics and photochemistry at interfaces: Experimental achievements stimulate further development of more precise theoretical methods. Computational modeling allows for interpretation of available experimental trends and help in guiding further advances in design of efficient photocatalytic materials It is expected that the symposium will bring better understanding of photoinduced processes of light absorption, formation and breaking of charge transfer excitations, hot carrier relaxation, and redox reaction dynamics at catalytic sites – affected by lattice vibrations and solvent polarization.



Organizers: Dmitri Kilin, Svetlana Kilina, Yulun Han

Invited speakers (pending)

David Micha(U of Florida)

George Schatz (NW) Evert Jan Meijer (U. Amsterd.)

Boston, Massachusetts

Kazunari Domen (Tokyo)

Ethimios Kaxiras (Harvard)

Mario Barbatti (AMU, Marseille)

Filippo De Angelis(Perugia), Sharon Hammes-Schiffer (Yale) Thomas Frauenheim (U. Bremen) Erik Hobbie (NDSU) Horia Metiu (UCSB) Karl Irikura (NIST) Hans Lishka (TTU) Giullia Galli (U.Chicago)

Georg Kresse (U.Wien) Todd Martinez (Stanford) DiValentin(U Milano)

International Advisory Committee

Invited Speakers (confirmed) Annabella Selloni(Princeton), Angela Wilson (MSU) David Micha(U of Florida) Mary Berry (USD)

Alan Aspuru-Guzik(Harvard) Mark Gordon (U Iowa), Maksim Kovalenko (ETHZ) Xiaosong Li (U. Washington) Martin Head-Gordon(Berkeley) Victor Klimov (LANL) Erik Hobbie (NDSU)

Victor Batista(Yale)

Elena Jakubikova(NCST)

Sergei Tretiak (LANL) Michael Dupuis (Buffalo) Benjamine Levine (MSU)

Michael Graetzel (EPFL Lausanne)

Philipp Boudjouk (NDSU) Oleg Prezhdo (USC)

Troy Van Voohris (MIT) Tim Lian(Emory)

Annabella Selloni (Princeton) Walter Thiel (MPIKF)

August 19-23, 2018